Home Contact Donate Site Map Log In
MDSC Logo MDSC Tagline
New & Expectant Parents Join the MDSC Volunteer Advocate Donate Today


Important Links and Documents

Nomination Form - Employer Award (NEW)
 Nomination Form - Outstanding Educator
Nomination Form - Allen C. Crocker Award
 Nomination Form - Media Award
Past Awards Recipients

2011 MDSC 27th Annual Conference Awards Luncheon
Elin Howe, Commissioner of the Massachusetts Department of Developmental Services
and 2011 recipient of the Allen C. Crocker Award of Excellence

Each year the MDSC honors persons who have celebrated the rich accomplishments of people with Down syndrome in the areas below. Submission deadline February 15. 

Employer Award NEW
Presented to an individual or company who is an exemplary employer in creating a welcoming, inclusive work environment for individuals with Down syndrome and/or other disabilities. Employers of the Year recognize the inherent value that people with Down syndrome can bring to the workforce and act as role models for other employers to emulate. They are open-minded, humane and show a desire to think outside the box to create a positive collaborative working relationship with their employee(s) with disabilities, which is beneficial for both parties. Submit nomination

Media Award
Presented to a person or company who exemplifies the MDSC's mission to disseminate up-to-date information about Down syndrome. Previous recipients have included Beverly Beckham of the Boston Globe, Amy Marcus of The Wall Street Journal, Gene Lavanchy of FOX25 News, Pat Bauer, formerly of The Washington Post, and Amy Masters of WCVB-TV, Produce of "Chronicle".  Submit nomination

Outstanding Educator Award
Presented to an educator in Massachusetts who has significantly contributed to ensuring that students with Down syndrome are given every opportunity to maximize their full potential.  A financial award of $500 will be given to the educator. Submit nomination

Allen C. Crocker Award of Excellence
The highest award offered by the MDSC to the person who most advances the Down syndrome movement. The Massachusetts Down Syndrome Congress established the Allen C. Crocker Award of Excellence in recognition of Dr. Crocker's many years of nurturing individuals with Down syndrome and their families throughout their life's journey.  Previous recipients were the Boston Ballet Adaptive Dance Program and Sarah Cullen and Angela Lombardo for their outstanding work providing first response services for new parents.  Submit nomination

MDSC Awards are presented each year at the Annual Conference, this year on March 19 at the DCU Center in Worcester. 

View previous award recipients

Media Award

Conference Awards Schleider
2011 Recipient Sarah Schleider
of NDSS (with Dr. Brian Skotko)

Outstanding Educator

William Endslow
2011 Award Recipient
William Endslow of Reading High School