Marie Blackburn, winner of the 2022 Allen Crocker Award of Excellence | Photo by Keith Toffling

Each year, MDSC honors individuals or organizations who have celebrated the rich accomplishments of people with Down syndrome.

In 2022, awards were presented at the October Buddy Walk in Wakefield.

Our Awards

Taffy Nothnagle of the South Shore Mothers Support Group, winner of the 2020 Crocker Award of Excellence

Allen C. Crocker Award of Excellence

The highest award offered by the MDSC, the Allen C. Crocker Award of Excellence was established in recognition of Dr. Crocker’s many years of nurturing individuals with Down syndrome and their families throughout their life’s journey. The award is presented to the person who most advances the Down syndrome movement.

View Previous Winners

Melissa Levin, 2021 Outstanding Educator of the Year

Outstanding Educator Award

Presented to an educator in Massachusetts who has significantly contributed to ensuring that students with Down syndrome are given every opportunity to maximize their full potential.

View Previous Winners
Submit a nomination for the 2023 MDSC Outstanding Educator Award.

Collette DiVitto of Collettey’s Cookies, 2021 Exemplary Employer

Exemplary Employer Award

Established in 2016, this award is presented to an individual or company who is an exemplary employer in creating a welcoming, inclusive work environment for individuals with Down syndrome and/or other disabilities. Employers of the Year recognize the inherent value that people with Down syndrome can bring to the workforce and act as role models for other employers to emulate.

View Previous Winners

Vanessa Welch of Boston25 News, MDSC’s 2022 Media Award winner | Photo by Keith Toffling

Media Award

Presented to a person or company who exemplifies the MDSC’s mission to disseminate up-to-date information about Down syndrome.

View Previous Winners

Leadership Award

View Previous Winners

Governor Charlie Baker accepts his 2022 Leadership Award at the Buddy Walk in Wakefield
Richard & Feyza Shipley, winners of an MDSC 2021 Leadership Award

Previous Award Winners